P3d.in's folders and models now support being shared to other users by adding their username or email to a share list. There are two ways that models and folders can be shared:
- Sharing with view only permission
- You can share your models or entire folders to your friends or co-workers with view only permission. Models shared this way will not be editable by the recipient. This is useful for sharing with clients and people only interested in reviewing your work!
- Sharing with view and edit permissions
- If you own a p3d.in account account you are now able to grant others view and edit permissions! Models shared this way will be fully editable by the recipient, including changing the mesh, material options, etc. You will continue to be the owner of the model.
- Sharing with management permissions
- Management access level can be given by a folder owner to one or more project managers, they will have the same access level to the entire folder structure as the owner, including setting and overriding folder freeze state.
Sharing a model or a folder
Sharing a model or a folder is done in a similar way.
For models, click on the Share Model option on the gallery drop down menu or in the control bar inside a specific model that you own. Add the new collaborator to the sharing list with the desired sharing mode.
Folders can be set to a special frozen state that can be enabled by the folder owner and their designated managers. This is useful to lock models from being edited further (even by the model owners) in production workflows, when the published asset is considered final. A folder can be unfrozen at any time of course :)
Please be careful when using this feature and ask your collaborators if it's alright to get their models frozen. Once a folder is frozen only the folder owner and their managers can move it and change it.
What if someone has shared with me?
Models and folders created by others and shared with you will be accessible from your gallery under the section Shared With Me. Depending on your permission level you will be able to view or also edit the models.
You can remove yourself from having access to a folder or model from the sharing dialog by clicking the button labelled: Drop folder or Drop model.
Notes on sharing
Shared folders and storage
When two or more users have access to a shared folder, storage is only taken from the folder owner's storage quota. This is specially convenient for teams, where only one of the members will need a large storage capacity in his p3d.in account. The user with the larger storage membership will create a shared folder, add her teammates as collaborators and let them use her storage quota.
Folder sharing overrides
By default all permissions set on a parent folder will be inherited by all it's sub-folders and models. This means that when an user with access to a parent folder adds or removes a collaborator to it, all the folders and models below it will also be automatically available (or not) for such collaborator!
However if a new collaborator is added or removed in one of the sub-folders, this sub-folder is now overridden. This means that changes on the parent folders will not be inherited automatically any more. An asterisk will be shown next to an overridden folder's name indicating it now has it's own sharing rules!